Tuesday, April 5, 2011

SaskTel Aboriginal Youth Awards of Excellence

The SaskTel Aboriginal Youth Awards of Excellence are a celebration of achievement by Saskatchewan Aboriginalyouth in ten categories:

1. Outstanding Achievement
2. Leadership
3. Education
4. Enterprise
5. Community Service
6. Culture
7. Sports and Recreation
8. Fine Art/Performing Arts
9. Technology/Science
10. Spirit

For more information on what is required in each of the categories, please see the website here.

Nominations for these awards are open to any youth who...

  • is of Aboriginal ancestry;
  • is between 13 and 19 years of age as of May 27, 2011;
  • is a resident of Saskatchewan; and
  • has demonstrated outstanding commitment and or ability in one of the nine award categories.

or any group that...

  • meets the above criteria.

Anyone can nominate a youth (except parents). But, each nomination must be supported by two references: community leader, educator or elder, not related to the youth. Also, youths can only be nominated in one category.

To nominate someone you must send in:

  • A completed nomination form.
  • Reasons for nominating this youth.
  • His or Her (or Group) accomplishments, in point form.
  • Two (2) letters of reference from, an elder, community leader, educator, coach (can not be related to the youth).
  • Nomination form filled in completely.
  • Nominee must complete and submit a 200 word autobiography explaining how he/she or group fit criteria of the particular award category. Also include goals, objectives, and beliefs, and reasons why you feel you deserve this award.
  • A 5x7 picture.

Note: All documents or pictures submitted will become property of the Wicihitowin Foundation and will not be returned. All documents or pictures must be submitted together at one time.

Mail, fax, or e-mail everything to:

SaskTel Aboriginal Youth Awards of Excellence

Terry Bird
11th flr. 410 22nd Street East
Saskatoon, Saskatchewan
S7K 1W8
Toll Free: 1-866-931-6205
Fax: (306) 931-5950
e-mail: aboriginal.youthawards@sasktel.sk.ca

Deadline for application is Midnight, April 8, 2011

Some helpful tips!
  • A youth can only be nominated in one category.
  • Give complete answers to all of the questions asked.
  • Provide lots of detail about the nominee and accomplishments.
  • Remember, the judges do not know the nominee yet.
  • The judges are most interested in personal sacrifice, determination, effort, commitment, attitude, demonstrations of leadership, sense of Aboriginal culture and language.
  • Past award winners are not eligible to be nominated.

No comments:

Post a Comment